Tags

, , ,

This was, needless to say, an accident.

I’m hoping I can pass it off as, like, a theme.

Basically I decided I want to kick it a bit oldschool and have one of those old Baldurs Gate style areas that are vast with stuff in. To be fair, it’s optional stuff so the more plot-orientated player could easily be “I scorn your stuff, let’s move on.” But, as I was saying in my last post, I like the idea that if you enjoy exploring and poking around then you get something out of it – something, I hasten to add that doesn’t make it mandatory behaviour, as there’s nothing worse than feeling obliged to do something because you need the rewards. I suppose the trick is to key the rewards to the activity – so if you like exploring, the opportunity to discover something is a suitable reward, but a +3 Sword of Arse Kicking is not.

Anyway, I’m quite proud of my totally retro area. The Lake District made me briefly insecure because it seems God really has this area design thang down to a fine art. But it looks vaguely like England, and there are waterfalls (waterfalls!!!) so I’m pleased with myself.

click to embiggen mah waterfall!!

There are also a bunch of quirky side-quests hanging around in this area as well – since Chapter 2 is very heavily Anglo-Saxon I thought I’d make this more Medieval but given that a lot of Arthurian stories involve hot babes and wild beasts it has rapidly degenerated into the bestiality themed area. Oh fail. And seriously not my intention. I mean you’d think there’d be a limit to bestiality-themed side quests but APPARENTLY NOT.

Lesson learned at least.

Also did I say: waterfalls?

Truthfully I’m slightly anxious about the nature of the area in general, even putting aside the bestiality issues. It is very retro. I’m not sure people even want to go tromping round the countryside looking for cloaks in the cloakwood like they used to. Also given the rest of the module is quite self-consciously linear and limited it’s probably got a bit of a “what mushrooms did you eat this morning?” feel to it.